And thus it begins….

Posted: January 14th, 2010 | Author: | Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Comments Off on And thus it begins….

“Android Karenina” by Leo Tolstoy and Ben H. Winters, coming soon. In the vein of “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” and “Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters.”

Bye-Bye, Jane. Hello, Leo: Quirk Books Takes on Anna Karenina in Next Quirk Classic!
Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters coauthor Ben H. Winters is back with an all-new collaborator, legendary Russian novelist Leo Tolstoy, and the result is Android Karenina (Quirk Books, $12.95, June 8, 2010)—an enhanced edition of the classic love story, now set in a dystopian world of robots, cyborgs, and interstellar space travel.
As in the original novel, our story follows two relationships: The tragic adulterous love affair of Anna Karenina and Count Alexei Vronsky, and the more hopeful marriage of Nikolai Levin and Princess Kitty Shcherbatskaya. These characters live in a steampunk-inspired world of robotic butlers, clumsy automatons, and rudimentary mechanical devices. But when these copper-plated machines begin to revolt against their human masters, our characters must fight back using state-of-the-art 19th-century technology—and a sleek new model of ultra-human cyborgs like nothing the world has ever seen.
Filled with the same blend of romance, drama, and fantasy that made the first two Quirk Classics New York Times best sellers, Android Karenina brings this celebrated series into the exciting world of science fiction.
LEO TOLSTOY wrote two of the greatest novels in world literature: War and Peace and Anna Karenina. BEN H. WINTERS is coauthor of the New York Times best seller Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, which was hailed by The Onion A.V. Club as a “sheer delight” and by Library Journal as “strangely entertaining, like a Weird Al version of an opera aria.” Mr. Winters lives in Brooklyn.


Comments are closed.